Past winners of BBC sports personality of the year award

Sports Personality of the Year

An annual sports award organised by the BBC and decided by public vote is awarded to the best British sportsperson of the year. The table below lists the past winners of the award and the sporting event they compete in. Also included are the winners of the team of the year award.

Year Sports Personality Sport event Team of the Year
2006Zara Phillips equestrianSt Helens rugby league team
2005Andrew Flintoff cricketerEngland cricket team
2004Kelly Holmes middle-distance runnerBritish Men's Coxless Fours Rowing Team
2003Jonny Wilkinson rugby union playerEngland Rugby Union World Cup winners
2002Paula Radcliffe long-distance runnerEuropean Ryder Cup team
2001David Beckham footballerLiverpool F.C.
2000Steve Redgrave rowerJointly awarded - British Olympic
& Paralympic Athletics teams
1999Lennox Lewis boxerManchester United
1998Michael Owen footballerArsenal
1997Greg Rusedski tennis playerBritish Lions
1996Damon Hill F1 driverBritish men's 4 x 400 m relay team
1995Jonathan Edwards triple jumperEuropean Ryder Cup team
1994Damon Hill F1 driverWigan Rugby League team
1993Linford Christie 100m sprinterEnglish Rugby Union team
1992Nigel Mansell F1 driverSteve Redgrave & Matthew Pinsent
1991Liz McColgan long-distance runnerJointly awarded - England Rugby Union team
& Men's Olympic 4 x 400m relay squad
1990Paul Gascoigne footballerScottish Rugby Union team
1989Nick Faldo golferBritish Olympic men's Athletics squad
1988Steve Davis snooker playerBritish Hockey team
1987Fatima Whitbread javelin throwerEuropean Ryder Cup team
1986Nigel Mansell F1 driverLiverpool F.C.
1985Barry McGuigan boxerEuropean Ryder Cup team
1984Jayne Torvill &
Christopher Dean
ice skatersBritish showjumping team
1983Steve Cram middle-distance runnerJayne Torvill & Christopher Dean
1982Daley Thompson decathleteJayne Torvill & Christopher Dean
1981Ian Botham cricketerBob Champion & Aldaniti
1980Robin Cousins ice skaterEnglish Rugby Union team
1979Sebastian Coe middle-distance runnerBritish Showjumping team
1978Steve Ovett middle-distance runnerDavis Cup and Wightman Cup tennis teams
1977Virginia Wade tennis playerLiverpool F.C.
1976John Curry ice skaterBritish Olympic Modern Pentathlon team
1975David Steele cricketerBritish men's Swimming team
1974Brendan Foster long-distance runnerBritish Lions
1973Jackie Stewart F1 driverSunderland A.F.C.
1972Mary Peters pentathleteOlympic Three Day Eventing team
1971Princess Anne three-day eventerBritish Lions
1970Henry Cooper boxerNijinsky II team
1969Ann Jones tennis playerJointly awarded - European Ryder Cup team
& British women's 4 x 400m relay team
1968David Hemery athleteManchester United
1967Henry Cooper boxerCeltic F.C.
1966Bobby Moore footballerEnglish World Cup football team
1965Tom Simpson cyclistWest Ham United
1964Mary Rand long jumperEnglish youth football team
1963Dorothy Hyman sprinterWest Indies Cricket team
1962Anita Lonsbrough swimmerBRM Motor Racing
1961Stirling Moss F1 driverTottenham Hotspur
1960David Broome show jumperCooper Racing
(First team award)
1959John Surtees motor bike racer 
1958Ian Black swimmer 
1957Dai Rees golfer 
1956Jim Laker cricketer 
1955Gordon Pirie middle-distance runner 
1954Chris Chataway long-distance runner 

2006 Shortlist

The 2006 BBC Sports personality of the year was chosen from the following 10 people on the 10th of December.

Seattle, WA Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

Suggestions or corrections email me [email protected]